Whew! I could use a PA!

If you read my bio you’ll see I’m a global nomad and distance grandma. Well, October was my grand-mothering month. First, I flew to Regina (approx. 3 hour flight) to hang out with Magdalena and Baxter. The airport was relatively easy to get to (a straight shot on the 407 ETR) – grandpa dropped me off.

Just to give you a picture of my crazy lifestyle – we moved yet again after two years being back in Canada – this time way into the boonies or wop-wops as my Antipodes friends would say. We moved into the original crooked little house – yeah, the one from the nursery rhyme.

We’ve lived in over 13 houses (I lost count) in our 37 years of marriage and every house bar one was renovated by my clever Dearly Beloved. But with this one he found out he bit off more than he could chew especially since his ole bod argued with his head that he’s not 30 years old anymore!  Anyway, the crooked house sitting on 2.5 acres of gorgeous treed property needed a major make-over – new kitchen, new toilets, new hardwood in living and dining room. There was construction dust all over the place and in the midst of it all, I’m trying to get my book published!

The last straw was when a month ago, the well ran dry on top of all the chaos around me. That’s when I ran away from home to my friend Fay’s beautiful spa-style home near Cornwall, Ontario where we lived at one time.

Anyway, house-wise, things are taking shape nicely. Next week we get the gas furnace and hot water cylinder installed and then I can start cookin’ with gas again.

We just got back from our second grandparent hangout with the New York grand girls – Cecelia, Phoebe and Rory. To get there from the boonies we had to take a taxi, GO bus, GO train, 5 minute ferry ride to the downtown Toronto airport, one-hour flight to Newark, NJ where our son-in-law picked us up.

All this to say that’s why I haven’t had time to blog! However, I’m glad to report that everything’s on schedule with the memoir publishing. My first printing of the paperback shipment arrives on Tuesday in time for the launch on Saturday, November 2. Meanwhile, I’m working diligently on making the book available on Amazon.com and other media. Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

