The Gestation Period

sample 3In New Zealand, I made another last ditch attempt to get this thing going. I asked a publisher friend to cast a critical eye over some parts of the novel I had written. We spent a weekend at fabulous Hanmer Springs, a spa town near Christchurch. Her response was, “Do you have a thick skin?” She put it to me as diplomatically and gently as she could. It stank! Looking back, I’m embarrassed to have even given her the material.

I refer to her as my literary mid-wife who told me the ‘baby’ was breech. She turned it around by suggesting that I write a memoir. I replied I thought memoirs were for important public figures. Anyway, I took her advice and once I began writing in this genre, the words simply began to flow as I tapped into my wellspring of memories. Some were extremely painful and embarrassing to drudge up, but it forced me to confront my fears that I had well insulated myself against with layers of walls. Breaking them down was excruciating at times.

It doesn’t help that I live a very transient life with having moved umpteen times, and with spates of illnesses in between leaving the memoir to crawl at a snail’s pace. Close to three years ago, I knuckled down while wintering in Savannah, Georgia, this time with my dearly beloved ‘Prince’ as my editor (and a fine one he is too!) Last winter I took my manuscript on vacation with me to the Dominican Republic where I made huge strides with it. It was there in the dreamy atmosphere of the Caribbean that the present working title jumped off the page, presenting itself as An Immoral Proposal

Leave a Reply

