Memoir: An Immoral Proposal

The man who dared to make the Immoral Proposal Michael and Jennifer 1975

The man who dared to make the Immoral Proposal
Michael and Jennifer 1975

An Immoral Proposal recounts my journey in coming to terms with my family background,racial identity and my story of forbidden love.

I was born under South Africa’s apartheid regime – a system where a white minority government (only white people had a vote) held absolute sway, and segregation based on the colour of one’s skin was the policed order of the day. Under this political climate coupled with a fragmented childhood, my sense of belonging – where I fitted in – was a constant emotional battle.

My birth certificate classifies me as “Cape Coloured” (`Coloured` as in mixed race). The ‘Cape’ part is easy to understand, that’s the region where I started life – Cape Town, Cape Province. But what did Coloured mean? The apartheid government legally defined us as a group of people who “fail to pass for White.” How do you ‘find’ yourself, being both Non-White and Non-Black, while you’re forever wandering about in a no-man’s land in terms of your societal worth?

To compound my problem, at age nineteen, I found myself embroiled in a situation that I knew was illegal and meant up to seven years imprisonment if caught and found guilty, but how do you tell your heart to stop loving. The Immorality Act, legislated in 1950 banning sexual relations and marriage between Whites and any Non-white ethnic groups is one of many apartheid laws that caused untold heartache and tragedy for couples who contravened that law. Falling in love with a white man and vice versa, against all odds, was a disaster waiting to happen.

This book will be available online soon.

8 thoughts on “Memoir: An Immoral Proposal

  1. hi there. your novel sounds interesting! reminds me of the stories my parents would tell me about the apartheid regime (i was only born in 1990 and didn’t quite suffer any of the affects directly. by the time I started schooling, i had friends of all races and cultures).
    look forward to seeing your novel on the shelves and reading it too 🙂

    take care

  2. jenniferbgraham

    Thanks Saajida. The South Africa your parents and I lived in was such a world apart from the one in which you live. Apartheid was as “hateful” as it sounds. I’m first publishing locally in North America and then will venture out to Amazon.com. Thanks for your comment.

  3. Okay sorry, I read the next post and understood exactly – you’re FROM here! And now I really need to read your memoir… it sounds like a really good read. They don’t put the “Cape” part in the birth registrations anymore. They’ve also taken “Malay” out though, which a lot of my Malaysian friends are annoyed with.
    Maybe it would be best if racial classifications were scrapped. I mean, we could still identify with whatever we want to see ourselves as, but I’m tired of being told that I’m just “Caucasian”, not African. Because Africa runs in my blood. (Did you know that scientifically, Caucasian actually refers to people from the Indian subcontinent as well?)
    Anyway, I’m definitely going to try to get hold of your memoir when it comes out online.

  4. Reblogged this on New Book: An Immoral Proposal and commented:

    The book has officially gone to print! It will be available toward the end of October

  5. Jennifer I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of your book… I heard from others it’s amazing.. Never a dull moment…. Hopefully we’ll meet up soon and I can get my copy…Signed by you of course!! Congrats on your endeavor… Looking forward to meeting up with you…

  6. Fascinating story Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

